ENGLISH   |   DANISH   |   FRENCH   |   GERMAN   |   ITALIAN   |   PORTUGUESE   |   SPANISH
NO PASSPORT REQUIRED FOR US TRAVELERS TO THE US VIRGIN ISLANDS!
TOLL FREE 1.800.524.7389     PHONE 340.774.5200     FAX 340.774.5582

GUEST REVIEWS

Great Value while transitioning through to BVI
Posted May 14, 2013
We flew from the California and arrived in St Thomas on Friday at noon. Our room was ready upon arrival. The front desk was great. Our room was on the 2nd floor north side. Very comfortable and clean. Short walk to the fast ferry. Close to downtown ( although despite being Friday night was dead, No shops open because no cruise ship was in town). 20 minute drive to Megan's Bay. Continental breakfast filled the belly and we were on the 8:30 ferry. Highly recommended for the price.

Bob M
Newport Beach, California
Pleasantly surprised
Posted Mar 31, 2013
My expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised. Service was good, air conditioning was working great! Room was clean. If you don't need to be on the beach, this is the place to stay. Business trip recommendation.

Tim D
Hopewell Junction, NY
Everything we were looking for in this hotel
Posted Jan 24, 2013
Our room and view was stunning - 3 floor corner room with a panoramic view, room decor and size was spacious and very nice. Tile floors, couch, two person dining table, king bed, overlooking the harbor. We originally booked 6 nights (professional photographers we were on business) we arrived January 1st, 2013, then we added 3 nights on to the end of our business trip to really experience the island. This hotel, the staff, and services were ideal for us. Room Service was exceptional, food was delicious, room was spotless, bed was so comfortable, check in staff/front desk were warm and extremely helpful. It is the perfect hotel and location for those who prefer to feel the island rather than plant themselves in a resort.

We visited Frenchman's Reef very large - service lacking - but a perfect honeymoon resort. We also spent the day at the Ritz Carlton (lunch, spa, and dinner) and stunning location much more intimate and again perfect honeymoon location.

We loved the Windward Passage because we not only had a reasonable room rate but we had a perfect location (dead center of the island harbor with easy access to all areas). Our room was awesome and we traveled the island fully to small bars, restaurants, shopping, beaches etc. Driving on the wrong side of the road on their steep curvy roads was a blast.

So I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for the full island experience.

Room Tip: Request a harbor front corner room - large, spacious, panoramic views of ocean and mountain,

Sensesatplay
Key West, Florida
Perfect Location
Posted Nov 24, 2012
We have stayed at this Hotel 2'x and are planning a 3rd trip. We love the locationas we can walk into to town for shopping or eatiing Plus it is right accorss the street from the ferry to Tortola.The staff has always been very helpful and polite. They will lock up luggage on the day of departure so you can hang out in town instead of at the airport. Rooms have always been clean and the food was good too.

Laura E
Chicago, Illinois
What great customer service!
Posted Sept 17, 2012
We recently stayed at the Windward Passage Hotel in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands. The guest service staff was so friendly and they made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. We had a wonderful server named Juan Squiabro at the hotel's restaurant. He was awesome!!! A really nice guy who catered to our every need. He was the epitome of great customer service and exhibited true Virgin Islands culture!!! We will definitely be back and Juan has to be our server!!!

Emile H
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Very Nice Stay
Posted Sept 12, 2012
The staff was nice..the hotel has a great location. we had no issues and would recommend this place..the water is across the street and there are plenty of taxis in the area..if a cruise ship is in all the businesses are open--if not lots of them close..we used the video gaming at the hotel and they run a daily shuttle to the beach...

Radio375
Port Charlotte, FL
Excellent Location
Posted Sept 15, 2012
Windward Passage is in an excellent location with friendly staff. Conveniently located to shopping, restaurants, the airport and ferry service. Best location in Charlotte Amalie and very nice accomodations.

Vaheel
Virginia
What Great Customer Service!
Posted Sept 17, 2012
We recently stayed at the Windward Passage Hotel in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands. The guest service staff was so friendly and they made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. We had a wonderful server named Juan Squiabro at the hotel's restaurant. He was awesome!!! A really nice guy who catered to our every need. He was the epitome of great customer service and exhibited true Virgin Islands culture!!! We will definitely be back and Juan has to be our server!!!

Emile H
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Perfect Location
Posted October 3, 2012
Great hotel, great location. Needed a place to stay for the night after getting off the ferry from Tortola and this was just perfect. Especially great with the special pricing for the fall. We did not try out the restaurant so I don't have any feedback on that.

Terry
New Jersey
something money can't buy
Reviewed September, 2012
Good morning,
Just a note to let you know how pleased I am with your staff, from the front desk right thru to group sales, housekeeping and maintenance. To a person they are most accommodating and customer-oriented. Each time I return, I'm made to feel like I'm back among "family and friends" - something money can't buy.

For example, James is so much more than just "security". Over my last several stays I've watched him willingly take on other roles as bellman, doorman and most particularly "concierge" -- from providing dining recommendations, to making reservations, to hailing taxis, to acquainting first time visitors with the islands. He does it all with a smile and no expectation of remuneration.

I travel about 100,000 miles and spend six to eight weeks a year in hotels, so I can really appreciate his commitment to customer service and consider that pretty remarkable compared to other properties.

Congratulations on assembling a great team. I look forward to my next stay with you in October.

Belton Jennings
CEO
Virgin Islands Territorial Association of REALTORS
FIRST CLASS STAFF!
Reviewed May 16, 2012
I have just come back from a stay at the Windward Passage 4/20/2012-5/1/2012 during the Carnival festivities and I can only say BRAVO, BRAVO! As I am a Revenue Manager at a hotel in New York City, I tend to notice the little things and also tend to have pretty high expectations as I would expect my guests to have at my property. Our first night was not successful. I had called the hotel 3 times to confirm my stay and specifically ask about renovated rooms as I had read all of the reviews online and was assured that it would be one of the renovated but upon check in, our room was pretty old. I understand that the staff was under extreme pressure as the hotel was completely sold out and I called the desk at 10pm that night and explained my situation. I was astounded when they actually tried to set up the room change that very night! In the end, they could not and I completely understood but was told that they would see what they could do the next day and bright and early, I received a call that my room was ready to change to. The Reservations Manager Lisa was absolutely incredible and we were upgraded to a newly renovated room with a harbor view! I cannot rave enough about Lisa! She is extremely kind, efficient and seemed to work all the time but the difference was that even in this busy time, her attitude and demeanor never changed and may I say, I am not always an easy client. She helped us with everything from taxis to advice on food and Carnival activities. May I say that the entire staff was the epitome of friendliness and customer service. Our 9 days were absolutely great and we honestly were made to feel like we were at home. I have read many of the complaints on this property and those older rooms do need help but the staff here and the location to everything cannot be beat!! Lastly, one more shoutout for a great Reservations Manager. If I could, I would steal her away to work in Manhattan! I look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: I would definitely book the harbor view

MIL0928
New York City, NY
Great short trip
Reviewed August 12, 2012
My wife and I stayed here for one night at very short notice. The room was clean and comfortable, but not fancy. We got early check in and that was greatly appreciated as we arrived several hours early. The hotel is located near to a lot of shopping, restaurants and bars so it was really just a place for us to leave our bags, bathe and sleep as we spent most of our time away from the hotel. There is no beach within walking distance as it is in the middle of town. This is a drawback for those seeking a tropical beach holiday. The hotel had a pool that looked nice but we never sed it. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious and fairly priced. There is a slot machine room for those who partake in those activities. Overall great location, great value and a great hotel for a St Thomas trip.

spemby
Cunupia, Trinidad
Perfect spot to catch the early Ferry to Tortola
Reviewed August 9, 2012
4 couples stayed at this hotel the night before our sailing trip. Since we had to catch an early ferry to Tortola, we wanted someplace close to the terminal. Windward was the perfect location. It was close to the restaurants in Charlotte Amalie, and a short walk (even with a ton of luggage and dive equipment) to the ferry dock the next morning.

Based on the other reviews in TA, I requested 4 remodeled rooms. I did book the hotel directly through the hotels website, and we were given 3 remodeled rooms and 1 older room. After some negotiations, they switched the 4th room too.

The back of the hotel has an 'awesome' view of the "Sex & Look" shop … at least it was fairly quiet. The front of the hotel has a really nice view of the harbor, but it can get a tad loud with the trucks in the morning.

Based just on location to the ferry … nothing will beat this hotel.

KatieinPA
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Great hotel - even for your wedding!
Reviewed August 3, 2012
My wife and I stayed at the Windward Passage for our wedding. Overall, we were really happy with the hotel.

To start with, it was very easy to find the hotel. Not only was it our first time in St. Thomas, but it was also my first time driving on the left side of the road. Our flight landed late in the evening, so I had to drive on the left side of the road at night. Since the hotel is located next to the coast, we just took the same road from the airport all the way to the hotel. I soon discovered the next day how challenging the roads can be once you start to drive up and down the mountains, so I was glad that we chose a hotel that was quick to get to after a long day. I would think that driving to a hotel up in the mountains, at night (with no street lights, mind you), could have been a frustrating way to start our trip. Also, the parking lot at the hotel is gated with security, which definitely makes you feel safer at night.

We got a room with an ocean view, which provided a great background. The room was clean and comfortable. As an added "bonus", the bathroom has shutters that you can open up and see the view from the bathroom. A little odd, but I thought it was neat. The room also had free WiFi.

There are shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, but most of the stuff we wanted to do involved driving. We also swam in the pool for a little bit. Nothing too fancy, but its nice.

The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. We were able to borrow towels for going to the beach. When we returned from our wedding ceremony, we had flower pedals waiting for us on our bed, which was a nice additional touch.

I had only one complaint, and it is not the hotel's fault. On Saturday night, a party boat pulled up along the coast (remember, we had an ocean view room). It was blasting LOUD music, and even with our earplugs we could hear the music! This was the night before our wedding (around midnight), so we wanted to get some sleep! Granted, it was a Saturday night, on an island with a relaxed attitude, so I understand. I suppose I just want to warn you that if you have a really important business meeting on a Sunday morning, you might want to think about this.

Would I stay here again? Yes. I thought the price of the room was very reasonable for the amenities that are available.

Bill-vul
Chicago, Illinois
Perfect Location, Great Room, Great Service
Reviewed July 30, 2012
Upon choosing this hotel and skeptical of the mixed reviews, we decided to book this hotel. I'm so glad we did; location was in shopping distance … great for a morning 3.0 mile jog along the water front to the cruise port and back. One bonus was the bus stop in front of the hotel; for $1 you can go to Kmart and the grocery store to stock up on items and food. Room was nice, clean and simple. Free shuttle to Megans Bay; and you can check out beach towels. Staff was really nice.

Walking distance, would suggest Glady's Cafe for breakfast or lunch … yummy hot sauces they make on the island. For Happy Hour, suggest Big Kahuna Rum Shack … meet the locals; happy hour is 5 - 9; it's like a Fat Tuesday frozen drinks … but also they squeeze fresh fruit for a Grey Goose and oj; they give a good size pour for $5. Everyone is so nice there. As for dinner, highly recommend Hook, Line & Sinker in Frenchtown … which is also in walking distance East of the hotel; this area was recommended by the bartender in Tiffany's.

As for fun, the bartender at Tiffany's (private VIP bar upstairs) recommended if you are visiting BVI, you have to sit an hour going through customs if taking the ferry, so she recommended a private sail company; we booked the Daydreamer (which is located at Sugar Bay) … incredible experience … breakfast served, and all you can drink Painkillers … went with about 5 other couples … was the most amazing time ever! The service is excellent, met great people, did snorkeling, had lunch at Foxy's while they handled customs for us, and also went to Soggy Dollar Bar in Jost Van Dyke … which you need to visit; water is like silk.

Accross the street from the hotel you can catch the ferry to Tortola, but we took it to St John for $12 per person; if you miss the ferry back, you can be dropped off at Red Hook, which is $6 per person … with a $10 per person cab ride back to hotel.

From talking to everyone on the island visiting, the biggest complaint we heard was the location of other resorts … others were spending more in cab fairs just to go downtown a few nights a week and they were not even happy with the resort they were staying at (they were rated higher than this one).

We had the best time ever … and plan on visiting soon! Our second choice would be the Marriott … but this hotel is worth staying at; will stay here again!

Room Tip: Suggest water view … really nice waking up to see cruise ships coming in along with the view.

luv2travel07175
Raleigh, North Carolina
Thanks Ms Garcia
Reviewed July 27, 2012
Ms. Garcia of the Windward Passage Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and recommended this hotel to me. It was a perfect location for me in St Thomas, close to everything I needed and right across the street from the Sea Plane for easy access back and forth to St Croix. My only suggestion is that the restaurants have better hours.

EvanRunde
Baltimore, Maryland
Simply affordable
Reviewed July 27, 2012
We were there for a week and simply the best location in downtown Charlotte Amalie. Close to the shops at Main Street, bars, banks etc. Room had basic amenities and was clean all the time, maid service is good. When we checked in we were given a room with 2 beds, since we are a couple I requested a change, the front desk clerk politely apologized and gave us a better one quickly. The view was nothing great but location is the best. They have a restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, we had breakfast 2 days of our stay, nothing to exciting about it but food is good. Bar opens around five, small but great for relaxing evening of drinks, bartenders Adam and Lawrence are nice. Overall nice stay and polite staff.

psegarra
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Great Place, friendly staff!
Reviewed July 18, 2012
The hotel was nice, good location, next to shops, restauraunts and the ferry dock. The rooms where renovated and clean. The staff was friendly and were happy to help. The outdoor pool was okay but the water didn't smell good. The restaraunt was also good. Overall a good place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour are quieter.

lemon100
New York City, New York
Excellent location - very good value
Reviewed July 5, 2012
We stayed at the Windward before and after a bareboat charter. The ferry terminal is across the street, a hundred yard away. Both times we got rooms with king beds and ice cold AC. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good. We also had drinks at the outside bar and found it to be very pleasant. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, 424 and it was large and quiet. This is not a water view room.

WileyPost
Columbia, South Carolina
My lovely stay
Reviewed June 29, 2012
Me and my boyfriend stayed here 1 nite on June 25, 2012 when i booked online i requested a watefront view and king standard room when i checked in i was given double beds and a side view i went downstairs and told them i dont want the room. The front desk went ahead and switch it to what i requested and i got room 239 it was really nice. The bathroom was nice and clean the bed was nice and comfortable and it had a big flat screen tv on the wall. Will definitely b staying here again.

SELUECIA D
St. Thomas
Nice hotel
Reviewed June 20, 2012
I stayed at the Windward Passage for 3 nights the first week of June. I didn't have any weird smells or mold or bugs in my room - my room was just fine. The staff was great. I ate several times in the hotel restaurant and the food was good. The morning I checked out I couldn't get a cab and one of the staff drove me to the airport. Very nice experience.

L W
Denver, Colorado